Ziyi’s look,ask, try, learn

Our project is DIY Seed kit and kombucha, we would like to use seed bag to grow plants. The problem is we need to balance the PH and have a moisture environment. We want to use the LCD screen as our output.

Look

We want to use the seed bag to grow our plants, so we think about the bag is similar with tea bag, because tea bag is kind of paper and can cross the water and some same size molecular. At the same time, a seed bag could protect the seed. This is a kind of tea bag I found in my home.

IMG_0811.jpg

Ask

I have no chance to ask others, so I just look up some seed bags in amazon, and other website, I would like to see what kind of materials can be used to tea bags, I found many of them using cotton and other fabric materials. Paper is not the best material because paper easy to broken during long times.

屏幕快照 2017-04-02 下午9.23.57.png

屏幕快照 2017-04-02 下午9.24.30.png

Try

I plan to buy one of these cotton bags try to grow something. I also found people also put different spices in this kind of cotton bag to stew broth. I will try to make some seed into the bag when I received the bag see how it works.

Learn

I found most of seed need to spread into the soil, I am not sure how if the seed bag is working. I learn that most soil PH between 5.5 and 8.0, if the PH level is under 6, the soil will be too acidic and we need to add ground limestone, if the PH level is above 7.5, the soil is too alkaline, you could add soil sulfur. Kombucha’s PH level is 3.5 to 2.5, so it is far to acidic to our plants, we need to figure out how to balance the PH level.

Leave a Reply

