Look, Ask, Try, Learn

Look

Our project is a clean display billboard that analyzes community data and displays it in a unique way, pushing communities to improve their overall environment. In order to be most effective, I wanted to research existing information on successful billboards so ours can be most influential. Although Design and Biology are of most importance in our project, marketing strategies will also have a large stake in the effectiveness of our project. Some of the best advice I found while looking at successful billboards were:

  • 2 lines of less of text (minimum information that be ready easily
  • Provide information that is useful, but accessible
  • Avoid Repetition – provide unique information that is fresh each time someone drives by

Ask

I wanted to go out in the field and ask other members of the community what billboards they have noticed in order to procure data that would be effective in strengthening our project. I asked 10 random people on the street what the last billboard they remember seeing was, where is was, and what it’s best quality was. These were some of the best responses.

What: Chik-Fil-A  Where: Freeway  Quality: Comedy

What: Playstation Ad   Where: Bus – Stop   Quality: Artistic Value/ Style

What: Banner Health   Where: 101 Freeway   Quality: 3D Style/Artistic Value

Try

I wanted to put myself in the shoes of the general community member and see what caught my attention while I was driving around or walking down the street. I wanted to discern successful billboards from ones that didn’t receive the attention necessary. I focused on specific qualities of each billboard and tried to glean information from them so we can use it in our project. One of the qualities that stood out to me from some of the best billboards were short, clear, concise messages that matched the art on the billboard. For example, the text on the billboard matches the message or company that the artist is trying to portray. Another quality that impressed me was when the art on the billboard helps tell the message, rather than add to it. For example, a Hail Damage repair billboard shows fake hail damage on the actual billboard. Finally, I found that the size of the billboard has a lot to do with how much information you can place on it. I found that Bus Stop billboards have much more textual information on them than Freeway billboards because you can stop to read them while you are waiting, rather than driving past the board on a freeway.

Learn

I took a role-playing strategy take on how knowledge of the health of someone’s surrounding environment would impact them in changing their habits on a day to day basis. One environmental issue that is affecting almost every community is waste and failure to recycle in order to slow the growth of landfills. I took a small sample size of my roommates/friends and asked them how often they recycle on a day to day basis. The results I received were very low, as only three of the ten people in the study remember recycling in the past week. Less than half of them even have a recycling bin in their house. I then showed them statistics on the amount of waste being generated just in Phoenix and how recycling could change those numbers significantly. I got an overwhelmingly positive response on members who genuinely were seeking a change in their recycling habits, and planned to either buy a recycling bin or recycle more frequently in the future. I am excited to see that knowledge being spread to the masses could positively affect these environmental health issues, as long as it is presented in the correct manner.

Leave a Reply

